

Academic Senate – All Faculty Agenda for May 8, 2025 12:30 pm – 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1RQrP.1

Academic Senate Mission Statement: As the official voice of faculty in academic and professional matters at the College of the Desert, the Academic Senate is committed to equity, student learning and student success. The Academic Senate at College of the Desert is committed to:

Lead and advocate proactively for the development of policies, processes, and practices that benefit student success and develop faculty leaders;

Include diverse faculty, perspectives, and experiences that represent our student populations in our decision making;

Empowering faculty to engage the shared governance of College of the Desert in the 10+1 areas and to take-action for continued improvement of teaching, learning, and faculty participation in the areas of:

1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
2. Degree and certificate requirements
3. Grading policies
4. Educational program development and educational program
discontinuance
5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-
study and annual reports
8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
9. Processes for program review
10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development

Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

Senators:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Jenne Carey, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment, Sarah Gaete, Adjunct; Lisa Davenport, Adjunct; Oceana Collins, Social Sciences; Talon Hart Health Sciences & Education/DE; Edith Rojas Salazar, Science & Engineering; Jorge Pérez, Math & Computer; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Marina Church, Communication and Humanities, Jin An-Dunning, Student Support Services & Library; Kurt Struwe, Business; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media

Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

Quorum 9 Majority 10:

Subject to Brown Act: Yes

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call
- 1.1Public Comments
- 2. Action Items
- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of April 24, 2025, Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
 - 2.3.1 Curriculum Courses Approved through May 6, 2025 <u>CC Courses Approved through May 6, 2025</u>
 - 2.3.2 Adjunct Subcommittee Charter Revision <u>Adjunct Committee Charter Revision</u>

 <u>May 2025</u>
 - 2.3.3 Items removed from Consent
- 2.4 Fourth Readings
 - 2.4.1 Senate Constitution, Bylaws, and Procedures. 4th Reading 4th Reading Constitution, Bylaws, Procedures
- 2.5 Third Readings
 - 2.5.1 Ed Tech & Distance Ed Committee Charter Committee of Origin: Ed Tech & Distance Ed <u>ETDE Charter Third Reading</u>
- 2.6 Second Readings
 - 2.6.1 Outcomes and Assessment Committee Charter Second Reading OAC Charter Second Reading

- 2.6.2 2025-2026 Senate and Committee Meeting Schedule Second Reading 2025-2026 Senate Meeting Schedule 2nd Reading
- 2.6.3 Curriculum Committee: GE Subcommittee Charter Second Reading
- 2.7 First Readings
 - 2.7.1 Resolution 7.10: AB 1705 Resolution, First Reading (Committee Origin: Math Department) Resolution 7.10 AB 1705 First Reading

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Faculty of the Year Celebration, Thursday May 22, 2025, 12:30 2:00 pm, Cravens MPR "Wok and Roll" Join us for a flavorful journey of Chinese Cuisine as we celebrate our incredible Faculty of Year members! Let's honor their hard work and dedication with delicious food, festive vibes, and a little extra fortune on the side!
- 3.2 ASCCC Spring Plenary Approved Resolutions Corbyn Wild <u>ASCCC Resolutions</u>

 <u>Process Page</u>

4. Committee Chair Reports

- 4.1 Faculty Development Leif Jordan
- 4.2 Curriculum John Learned
- 4.3 Ed Tech & Distance Ed Jenne Carey
- 4.4 OAC Kristie Camacho
- 4.5 Ed Policies & Procedures Kurt Spurgin
- 4.6 ASCOD
- 4.7 Adjuncts Lisa Davenport, Sarah Gaete
- 4.8 Senate President Corbyn Wild
- 5. Good of the Order
- 6. Future Agenda Topics
- 7. Adjournment

Next Meeting September 11, 2025