

Academic Senate – All Faculty

Agenda for April 10, 2025

12:30 pm – 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1RQrP.1

Academic Senate Mission Statement: As the official voice of faculty in academic and professional matters at the College of the Desert, the Academic Senate is committed to equity, student learning and student success. The Academic Senate at College of the Desert is committed to:

Lead and advocate proactively for the development of policies, processes, and practices that benefit student success and develop faculty leaders;

Include diverse faculty, perspectives, and experiences that represent our student populations in our decision making;

Empowering faculty to engage the shared governance of College of the Desert in the 10+1 areas and to take-action for continued improvement of teaching, learning, and faculty participation in the areas of:

1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
2. Degree and certificate requirements
3. Grading policies
4. Educational program development and educational program discontinuance
5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self- study and annual reports
8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
9. Processes for program review
10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon

between the governing board and the academic senate.

Senate Executive Members:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Jenne Carey, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment, Sarah Gaete, Adjunct

Senators:

Oceana Collins, Social Sciences; Talon Hart Health Sciences & Education/DE; Edith Rojas Salazar, Science & Engineering; Jorge Pérez, Math & Computer; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Marina Church, Communication and Humanities, Jin An-Dunning, Student Support Services & Library; Kurt Struwe, Business; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Lisa Davenport, Adjunct

Guests:

Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

Quorum 9 Majority 10:

Subject to Brown Act: Yes

1. Call to Order/Roll Call

1.1Public Comments

2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of March 27, 2025, Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
 - 2.3.1 Items removed from Consent
- 2.4 Second Readings

2.4.1 Senate Constitution and Bylaws Second Reading

- 2.5 First Readings
 - 2.5.1 Ed Tech & Distance Ed Charter Committee of Origin: Ed Tech & Distance Ed <u>First Reading</u>
 - 2.5.2 AP 2510 Participation in Local Decision Making, Committee of Origin: Educational Policies & Practices <u>AP 2510 First Reading</u>

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Student Spotlight: ESLN Students
- 3.2 Workforce Development/CTE Updates: Prudence Chase
- 3.3 Adjunct Election Results: Lisa Davenport

3.4 Senate Election Results:

- President: Corbyn Wild
- Ed Tech & Distance Ed: Jenne Carey
- Faculty Development: Leif Jordan
- Faculty of Year: Giuseppe Vezzoli
- 4. Committee Chair Reports
- 5. Good of the Order
- 6. Future Agenda Topics
- 7. Adjournment

Next Meeting April 24, 2025