

Academic Senate – Faculty Development Committee Agenda for May 4th, 2023

12:30 pm - 1:50 pm KINE 103

COLLEGE OF THE DESERT MISSION: College of the Desert is an inclusive, student-centered community college providing high-quality degree, certificate, and transfer programs that are accessible, affordable, and responsive to the diverse needs of students and our community. By preparing workforce professionals and leaders, the College enhances the local economy, closes persistent equity gaps, and improves the quality of life in the Coachella Valley and surrounding communities

***Persons with disabilities may make a written request for a disabilityrelated modification or accommodation, including for auxiliary aids or
services, to take part in the Senate meeting. Requests should be directed
to the Academic Senate President and/or Secretary as soon in advance of
the Senate meeting as possible. The Senate minutes of the meeting are
the official record of the actions of the Senate. The Senate meetings are
governed by the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Code 54950 through
54962).

Committee Members (10)

Donna Greene (Chair); Pui Lok Choi (Adjunct); Dorothy Anderson (Applied Science); Emily Maddigan (Arts & Media); Robert Holmes (Business); Diane Taras (Communications & Humanities); Victoria Bautista (General Counseling); Wendy Ansley (Health Sciences & Education); Leif Jordan (Math & Computer Science); Giuseppe Vezzoli (Science & Engineering); Jermaine Cathcart (Social Sciences); Victoria Curry (Library, DE, Student Support Services)

Ex-Officio: Terri Wilson

Quorum 6 Majority 17:

Subject to Brown Act: Yes

1. Call to Order/Roll Call

1.1 Public Comments

2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
- 2.3.1 Professional Advancement Sub Committee
 - 2.3.1.1 Maria Elena Diaz Graduate Certificate in Conflict Management Abilene Christian University
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent.
- 2.5 Second Reading
- 2.6 Funding Requests
 - 2.6.1.1 Meredith Dillon \$345 National Athletic Trainers Virtual Symposium.
 - 2.6.1.2 Angel Lua \$1000 CTA Equity Conference
 - 2.6.1.3 Mzilikazi Kone \$1000 Western Political Science Association
 - 2.6.1.4 Elizabeth Walker \$1000 Western Political Science Association
 - 2.6.1.5 Thomas Farmer \$1000 APS Convention
 - 2.6.1.6 Suria Ceja \$1000 ASTSP
 - 2.6.1.7 Melissa Flora \$94 National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
 - 2.6.1.8 Gwendolyn Earle \$399 OTC
 - 2.6.1.9 Sarah Rodriguez-Moscone \$1000 American Chemical Society
 - 2.6.1.10 Victoria Curry \$599 AHEAD
 - 2.6.1.11 Frank Ramirez \$1000 Career Development Around the World
 - 2.6.1.12 Enrique Gutierrez \$1000 Fabtech
 - 2.6.1.13 Mari Abril \$1000 OTC
 - 2.6.1.14 Kevin Dolan \$1000 OTC
 - 2.6.1.15 Christina Corrales-Cotto \$1000 OTC
 - 2.6.1.16 Elizabeth Walker \$525 CCEMC Dual Enrollment (23/24 AY)

2.6.1.17 Giuseppe Vezzoli \$797 CTA LGBTQI+ (23/24 AY)

2.7 Group Funding Requests

2.7.1.1 DE is requesting \$5000 to purchase iPads for faculty to borrow. They would like to revive the <u>Flipping the Classroom</u> Faculty Inquiry Group that was active pre-pandemic. iPads would be stored in the BFIC and managed by Craig Donahue.

This group would be open to any discipline and all faculty are welcome to participate.

iPads are used to generate online content for the Flipped Classroom strategies.

According to a recent meta-analysis, Flipped Classroom practices produced overall learning gains.

https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.3102/00346543211019122?journalCode=rera.

2.8 Fall 2023 Flex Proposals

2.8.1 See PPT.

3. Information/Discussion Items

3.1

4. Reports/Updates

- 4.1 Leif Jordan Funding Update
- 4.2 Terri Wilson Professional Development Committee

5. Good of the Order

6. Future Agenda Topics

7. Adjournment

Next Meeting

Fall 2023