Associated Students of College of the Desert

ASCOD Student Senate

Agenda for June 16, 2025 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Join the meeting in OSL Conference room Dining Hall, 114 A or Via Zoom Meeting

https://collegeofthedesertedu.zoom.us/j/77202041271 Meeting ID: 772 0204 1271

1. Organizational Items:

| Call to Order: | |
|----------------------|---------------|
| Roll Call: | |
| Approval of Agenda: | June 16, 2025 |
| Approval of Minutes: | June 2, 2025 |

2. Public Comment:

Letters and remarks from interested students: Any member of the public who wishes to address the ASCOD Student Senate on any matter is limited to three (3) minutes. The total time for members of the public to speak on the same or similar issues shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes. The ASCOD Student Senate welcomes your comments; however, we are unable to respond to those comments at this time.

3. Guest Speaker: None

4. <u>Reports:</u>

President-Kaden Olson:

Vice President-Juan Falcon:

Secretary-Evelyn Castillo:

Student Trustee-Felipe Robles:

Officer of Academic Affairs-Daisy Mendieta:

Officer of Communications-Vacant:

Officer of External Affairs-Gissel Sanchez:

Officer of Fiscal Affairs-Abraham Carbajal:

Senators:

-Christopher Martinez:

-Paulina Verdugo:

-Rachel Sanchez:

-Natani Davidsen:

-Keith Prouty:

Off-site Senators:

-Jenitza Perez:

Advisors:

-Carlos A. Maldonado: -Danny Torres:

5. Action Items

Consent Items: These items are intended to be routine and non-controversial. They will be acted upon by the Student Senate at one time without discussion. Any member of the Student Senate or any COD student may request that any item be removed from this section for discussion.

Unfinished Business:

New Business:

5.1 Committee Appointments – ASCOD Student Senate will discuss and possibly approve committee appointments.

Club Charter: None

6. Information/Discussion Items

6.1 ASCOD Retreat – ASCOD Student Senate will discuss the ASCOD retreat.

7. Committee and Taskforce Reports

ASCOD STANDING COMMITTEES

| 7.1 Budget and Finance: Chair: A. Carbajal Members: K. Olson, J. Falcon, K. Prouty | 7.2 Executive Council: Chair: K. Olson Members: J. Falcon, F. Robles, E. Castillo, D. Mendieta, G. Sanchez, A. Carbajal |
|---|--|
| 7.3 Constitution and Bylaws: Chair: K. Prouty Members: K. Olson, A. Carbajal | 7.4 Governmental Relations: Chair: G. Sanchez Members: K. Olson, C. Martinez, K. Prouty, P. Verdugo, N. Davidson |
| 7.5 Equity and Diversity: Chair: Members: F. Robles, D. Mendieta, J. Falcon, N. Davidsen | 7.6 Public Relations: Chair: Members: F. Robles, C. Martinez, P. Verdugo, G. Sanchez, D. Mendieta |
| 7.7 Events: Chair: F. Robles Members: K. Olson, J. Falcon, R. Sanchez, D. Mendiet K. Prouty, J. Perez | 7.8 Elections Committee: Chair: P. Verdugo Members: D. Mendieta, R. Sanchez, G. Sanchez, |

COD STANDING COMMITTEES

| 7.09 Academic Senate: D. Mendieta | 7.10 Academic Calendar Committee: D. Mendieta |
|-----------------------------------|---|
| | |
| | |

| 7.11 Assessment of Planning & Outcomes (APO) (CPC sub-committee): J. Falcon | 7.12 Automotive Advisory Committee: K. Prouty (A. Carbajal) |
|--|--|
| 7.13 Bookstore Advisory Committee: P. Verdugo, G. Sanchez | 7.14 Budget Sub-Committee: A. Carbajal |
| 7.15 Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee: C. Martinez | 7.16 COD Foundation Board: J. Falcon (C. Martinez) |
| 7.17 College Planning Council (CPC): K. Olson, F. Robles | 7.18 Data Evaluation Sub-Committee: N. Davidsen |
| 7.19 Diversity Committee: D. Mendieta | 7.20 DSPS Advisory Committee: P. Verdugo |
| 7.21 Dual Enrollment Committee: D. Mendieta | 7.22 Strong Workforce Steering: F. Robles |
| 7.23 EOPS/CARE and Foster Youth Advisory Committee: C. Martinez | 7.24 Equity Committee: F. Robles |
| 7.25 Enrollment Management Committee: P. Verdugo | 7.26 Facilities Advisory Committee: K. Olson |
| 7.27 Faculty Development Committee: R. Sanchez (K. Prouty) | 7.28 Food Services Advisory Committee: E. Castillo, G. Sanchez, J. Falcon, J. Perez |
| 7.29 Gender and Sexual Diversity Pride Center Advisory Committee: F. Robles | 7.30 Guided Pathways: R. Sanchez, D. Mendieta, J. Falcon, K. Prouty, J. Perez, N. Davidsen, C. Martinez, P. Verdugo, E. Auger |
| 7.31 Information and Technology Systems: D. Mendieta | 7.32 Matriculation/SSSP Advisory Committee: J. Falcon |
| 7.33 Outreach/Training (CPC Sub-Committee): C. Martinez (J. Falcon) | 7.34 Safety Committee: R. Sanchez |
| 7.35 Transfer Advisory Committee: P. Verdugo | |

COD ACADEMIC SENATE COMMITTEES

| 7.37 Curriculum Committee: F. Robles | 7.38 Educational Policies and Practices: J. Falcon |
|--|--|
| 7.39 Educational Technologies and Distance Education: N. Davidsen | 7.40 Outcomes and Assessment Committee: K. Olson |

COD/ASCOD AD-HOC COMMITTEES

| 7.41 Website Redesign Steering Committee: F. Robles, C. Martinez, J. Falcon, J. Perez | 7.42 District Furniture Standards Workgroup: F. Robles |
|--|--|
| 7.43 Student Equity Plan Writing Workgroup: F. Robles, D. Mendieta | |

<u>9. Communication from the floor:</u> This is the time provided so that any member of the ASCOD Student Senate may address any issues or concerns or bring forward information for general discussion.

10. Adjournment: