Student Voices

The Transfer Club is a chartered club with ASCOD. The club is dedicated to bringing transfer activities, events and speakers to campus to promote transfer to a four year institution. Transfer Club members assist with presentations, college fair set up, the Transfer Recognition and more!

To get involved, email Scott for leadership opportunities. 

This Fall, 2018, the College of the Desert Board of Trustees approved the Proclamation establishing October as Transfer Month. 



WHEREAS, transfer to a four-year university is one of the primary roles of the community college system as outlined in the California Master Educational Plan and reaffirmed in California Promise Program; and

WHEREAS, the social and community impact of obtaining a bachelor’s degree improves financial stability, health, and increases tax revenues helping our national, state, and local communities; and

WHEREAS, the State Chancellor’s Office has identified the Inland Empire as an area for opportunity for growth in transfer numbers; and

WHEREAS, College of the Desert is one of the California community colleges striving to achieve the state’s goals and is the primary community college serving the entire Coachella Valley; and

WHEREAS, College of the Desert has had the largest graduating and transfer-ready classes in our history for the last three consecutive years; and

WHEREAS, College of the Desert has dedicated fiscal and personnel resources to actively grow our transfer population and streamline degree pathways for students; and

WHEREAS October begins the application cycle to the California State University system, our largest transfer partner institution;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that October be proclaimed Transfer Month at College of the Desert.


BOARD OF TRUSTEES                                                       SUPERINTENDENT/PRESIDENT

Becky Broughton, Chair                                                             Joel L. Kinnamon, Ed.D.

Bonnie Stefan, Ed.D., Vice Chair

Fred E. Jandt, Ph.D., Clerk

Mary Jane Sanchez-Fulton

Aurora Wilson



Jonathan Ramont​