College Seats Trustees and Appoints Officers

Three candidates who were elected to the Desert Community College District, the governing board for College of the Desert, were administered the oath of office today. Incumbents Fred Jandt, Ph.D., and Bonnie Stefan, Ed.D. were sworn in by Superintendent/President Joel L. Kinnamon, Ed.D.  New member Bea Gonzalez was sworn in by her son Mathew Maldonado and daughter Monique Maldonado.

Joining the board in 1999, Trustee Stefan is a strong advocate for accessibility and transparency in education. She has also been instrumental in the College’s adoption of programs and initiatives that address some of the biggest issues facing community colleges today. With numerous charitable, community and social affiliations, her impact goes well beyond the local level. Last May, the Community College League of California recognized Trustee Stefan for her service to the state’s community college system with the Fulfilling the Trust Award.

First elected in 2016, Trustee Jandt is a proponent of higher education and has championed the College’s role in providing a skilled workforce for the Coachella Valley. An author and longtime educator, he previously served as Dean of the California State University, San Bernardino's Palm Desert Campus. Trustee Jandt has been an advocate for student success, working to successfully create benefits and opportunities for students throughout the Coachella Valley.

An experienced educator and leader, Trustee Gonzalez has built partnerships and leveraged resources to ensure students in the East Valley have an equitable opportunity to learn. For the last 21 years, she has served as the District Coordinator for the Coachella Valley Unified School District’s Expanded Learning After School Programs. In 2019, she was named the 56th Assembly District’s Woman of the Year for her leadership and dedication to her students. 

A College of the Desert alumni herself, Trustee Gonzalez said “College of the Desert is an amazing place and I look forward to working closely with this board and our community to move the College forward.”

 Board Reorganization

Each year as part of the December meeting, the Board of Trustees announces the organization for the upcoming year and appoints officers. The following is a list of appointments and positions the Trustees will hold in 2021.

 Desert Community College District, Board Positions:

  • Aurora Wilson, Board Chair
  • Rubén AríAztlán Pérez, Vice Chair
  • Bonnie Stefan, Ed.D., Clerk
  • Fred E. Jandt, Ph.D., Member
  • Bea Gonzalez, Member

2021 Assignments:

  • Auxiliary, Liaison: Bonnie Stefan, Ed.D.
  • County Committee, Liaison: Aurora Wilson
  • Theater Committee: Fred E. Jandt, Ph.D.
  • Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee, Liaison: Rubén AríAztlán Pérez
  • Desert Financing Corporation for the New Market Tax Credit, Board of Trustees: Bea Gonzalez

Information about the Board of Trustees, meeting schedules, agendas and other important information can be found on the College’s website.