School of Health Sciences & Education

Gary Plunkett
Dean of Health Sciences and Education

gplunkett@collegeofthedesert.edu
KINE 102C

Sarah Fry
Director of Nursing and Allied Health

sfry@collegeofthedesert.edu
BNC 4

Dianne Russom
Director of McCarthy Childcare Center

drussom@collegeofthedesert.edu

Natalie Holland
Administrative Assistant, Kinesiology and Athletics

nholland@collegeofthedesert.edu
KINE 102

Aletse Camacho
Athletics Program Assistant

acamacho@collegeofthedesert.edu
KINE 102

Mark Demry
Administrative Assistant, Nursing, Health Sciences, and Early Childhood

mdemry@collegeofthedesert.edu
BNC 3

Elena Mijarez
Nursing Programs Assistant

emijarez@collegeofthedesert.edu
BNC 9


Health Sciences and Education includes Nursing, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Childhood Development & Education, and Athletics programs/courses. These educational pathways include both theoretical instruction on campus and clinical experience in local facilities.

Use links at left for more specific information about Nursing programs, the Health Sciences degree, CDE, and Kinesiology/Athletics.

Health Sciences does not offer medically related technician (surgical, dental, X-ray, ultrasound, etc.) or therapist type courses at this time.

  • The McCarthy Child Development and Training center serves children 12 months to 5 years old. It is state funded providing care for school hours as well as breakfast, lunch, and/or snack depending on the hours of care. Parents must provide income eligibility and need of services. Please call 760-862-1308 for more information.

  • If any student feels they are being treated unfairly, there is a grievance procedure outlined in the college catalog. Visit Student Life/Rights/General Complaint​​​​​​​​​