Environmental Scan

College of the Desert Environmental Scan presents data about the community that make up the Desert Community College District. The map, below, shows that the district encompasses four school districts in the Coachella Valley - Palm Springs Unified, Desert Sands Unified, Coachella Valley Unified, and Desert Center Unified (going west to east). The district serves the communities of Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Center, Desert Hot Springs, Indian Wells, Indio, La Quinta, Mecca, Mountain Center, North Palm Springs, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, Rancho Mirage, Thermal, Thousand Palms, and portions of Blythe, Mountain Center, Salton City and Whitewater.

The Environmental Scan covers three main areas: Population, Education, and Economic Characteristics. Data reported in the scan comes primarily from the 2017 American Community Survey. Other data sources include the Inland Empire Economic Report, California Department of Education, and COD MIS files. Please see this document for detailed information on where to find the data. Data is as current as is available.

Map of COD District (DCCD)



Economic Characteristics